

Brussels, 27 November 2024 (OR. en)

EUCO 53/24

INST 372 CO EUR 46

LEGAL ACTS

Subject: EUROPEAN COUNCIL DECISION appointing the Commission

EUCO 53/24

GIP.INST

EN

EUROPEAN COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2024/...

of ...

appointing the Commission

THE EUROPEAN COUNCIL,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular Article 17(3) and (7), third subparagraph, thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The term of office of the European Commission appointed by European Council Decision (EU) 2019/1989¹ came to an end on 31 October 2024.
- (2) In accordance with Article 17(5) of the Treaty on European Union (TEU), the European Council adopted Decision 2013/272/EU² concerning the number of members of the Commission.
- (3) A new Commission, consisting of one national of each Member State, including its President and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, should be appointed until 31 October 2029.
- (4) By Decision (EU) 2024/1862³, the European Council proposed Ms Ursula VON DER LEYEN to the European Parliament as the candidate for President of the Commission. The European Parliament elected her as President of the Commission at its plenary session of 18 July 2024.

EUCO 53/24

GIP.INST EN

European Council Decision (EU) 2019/1989 of 28 November 2019 appointing the European Commission (OJ L 308, 29.11.2019, p. 100).

European Council Decision 2013/272/EU of 22 May 2013 concerning the number of members of the European Commission (OJ L 165, 18.6.2013, p. 98).

European Council Decision (EU) 2024/1862 of 27 June 2024 proposing to the European Parliament a candidate for President of the Commission (OJ L, 2024/1862, 1.7.2024, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dec/2024/1862/oj).

- (5) By Decision (EU) 2024/2086⁴, the European Council, with the agreement of the President-elect of the Commission, appointed Ms Kaja KALLAS as High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy for the period from the end of the current term of office of the Commission until 31 October 2029.
- (6) By Decision (EU) 2024/2517⁵, the Council, by common accord with the President-elect of the Commission, adopted the list of the other persons whom it proposes for appointment as Members of the Commission.
- (7) By means of a vote held on 27 November 2024, the European Parliament gave its consent to the appointment, as a body, of the President of the Commission, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, and the other Members of the Commission.

EUCO 53/24

GIP.INST EN

European Council Decision (EU) 2024/2086 of 24 July 2024 appointing the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy (OJ L, 2024/2086, 26.7.2024, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dec/2024/2086/oj).

Council Decision (EU) 2024/2517, taken by common accord with the President-elect of the Commission, of 19 September 2024 adopting the list of the other persons whom the Council proposes for appointment as Members of the Commission (OJ L, 2024/2517, 23.9.2024, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dec/2024/2517/oj).

(8) The Commission should therefore be appointed, HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

EUCO 53/24

GIP.INST

4

EN

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Commission for the period from 1 December 2024 to 31 October 2029:

– as President:

Ms Ursula VON DER LEYEN

– as Member, Vice-President, pursuant to Article 18(4) TEU:

Ms Kaja KALLAS, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

as Members:

Mr Magnus BRUNNER

Ms Maria Luís CASANOVA MORGADO DIAS DE ALBUQUERQUE

Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS

Mr Raffaele FITTO

Mr Christophe HANSEN

Mr Wopke Bastiaan HOEKSTRA

Mr Dan JØRGENSEN

Mr Constantinos KADIS

Ms Marta KOS

Mr Andrius KUBILIUS

Ms Hadja LAHBIB

Mr Michael MCGRATH

Mr Glenn MICALLEF

Ms Roxana MÎNZATU

Ms Teresa RIBERA RODRÍGUEZ

Ms Jessika ROSWALL

Mr Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ

Mr Stéphane SÉJOURNÉ

Mr Piotr Arkadiusz SERAFIN

Mr Jozef SÍKELA

Ms Ekaterina SPASOVA GECHEVA-ZAHARIEVA

Ms Dubravka ŠUICA

Mr Apostolos TZITZIKOSTAS

Mr Olivér VÁRHELYI

Ms Henna Maria VIRKKUNEN.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on 1 December 2024. It shall b	e published in the Official
Journal of the European Union.	

Done at ..., ...

For the European Council
The President