## **European Parliament**



2024-2029

Plenary sitting

A10-0025/2024

4.12.2024

\*\*\*

# RECOMMENDATION

on the draft Council decision on the accession of Tuvalu to the Interim Partnership Agreement between the European Community, of the one part, and the Pacific States, of the other part (05757/2024 - C9-0033/2024 - 2023/0456(NLE))

Committee on International Trade

Rapporteur: Dariusz Joński

 $RR \ 1311600 EN. docx$ 

PE765.181v02-00

## Symbols for procedures

- \* Consultation procedure
- \*\*\* Consent procedure
- \*\*\*I Ordinary legislative procedure (first reading)
- \*\*\*II Ordinary legislative procedure (second reading)
- \*\*\*III Ordinary legislative procedure (third reading)

(The type of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the draft act.)

## CONTENTS

	Page
DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION	5
EXPLANTORY STATEMENT	6
ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS R	
PROCEDURE – COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	8
FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL BY THE COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	9

PE765.181v02-00

## DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

#### on the draft Council decision on the accession of Tuvalu to the Interim Partnership Agreement between the European Community, of the one part, and the Pacific States, of the other part (05757/2024 – C9-0033/2024 – 2023/0456(NLE))

#### (Consent)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the draft Council decision (05757/2024),
- having regard to the Interim Partnership Agreement between the European Community, of the one part, and the Pacific States, of the other part<sup>1</sup>,
- having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with the first subparagraph of Article 207(4), in conjunction with point (a)(v) of the second subparagraph of Article 218(6) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C9-0033/2024),
- having regard to Rule 107(1) and (4) and Rule 117(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on International Trade (A10-0025/2024),
- 1. Gives its consent to Tuvalu's accession to the agreement;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of Tuvalu.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Council Decision 2009/729/EC of 13 July 2009 on the signature and provisional application of the Interim Partnership Agreement between the European Community, of the one part, and the Pacific States, of the other part (OJ L 272, 16.10.2009, p. 1)

## **EXPLANTORY STATEMENT**

Tuvalu will lose the EU's Everything-But-Arms (EBA) preferences soon as it is expected to graduate from the Least Developed Countries (LDC) status in 2024.

In order to support its transition and to maintain full duty-free-quota-free access to the EU market, it will be beneficial for Tuvalu to accede to the interim EPA (iEPA) between the EU and the Pacific States (Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Solomon Islands).

Your rapporteur supports the economic integration of the Pacific States and welcomes the accession of Tuvalu to the iEPA as this will be beneficial for the region as well as for trade relations with the European Union.

#### ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS RECEIVED INPUT

The rapporteur declares under his exclusive responsibility that he did not receive input from any entity or person to be mentioned in this Annex pursuant to Article 8 of Annex I to the Rules of Procedure.

## **PROCEDURE – COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE**

Title	EC-Pacific States Interim Partnership Agreement: accession of Tuvalu	
References	05757/2024 - C9-0033/2024 - 2023/0456(NLE)	
Date of consultation or request for consent	22.2.2024	
Committee(s) responsible	INTA	
<b>Committees asked for opinions</b> Date announced in plenary	DEVE 11.3.2024	
Not delivering opinions Date of decision	DEVE 21.10.2024	
<b>Rapporteurs</b> Date appointed	Dariusz Joński 30.9.2024	
Discussed in committee	18.11.2024	
Date adopted	3.12.2024	
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & & 30 \\ -: & & 6 \\ 0: & & 0 \end{array}$	
Members present for the final vote	Manon Aubry, Christophe Bay, Brando Benifei, Lynn Boylan, Anna Bryłka, Udo Bullmann, Daniel Caspary, Benoit Cassart, Markéta Gregorová, Céline Imart, Karin Karlsbro, Rudi Kennes, Sebastian Kruis, Bernd Lange, Ilia Lazarov, Miriam Lexmann, Gabriel Mato, Javier Moreno Sánchez, Ştefan Muşoiu, Daniele Polato, Majdouline Sbai, Lukas Sieper, Francesco Torselli, Inese Vaidere, Kathleen Van Brempt, Marie-Pierre Vedrenne, Catarina Vieira, Bogdan Andrzej Zdrojewski, Juan Ignacio Zoido Álvarez	
Substitutes present for the final vote	Mika Aaltola, João Cotrim De Figueiredo, Barry Cowen, Borja Giménez Larraz, Cristina Maestre	
Members under Rule 216(7) present for the final vote	Delara Burkhardt, Loránt Vincze	
Date tabled	5.12.2024	

## FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL BY THE COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

30	+
ECR	Daniele Polato, Francesco Torselli
NI	Lukas Sieper
PPE	Mika Aaltola, Daniel Caspary, Borja Giménez Larraz, Céline Imart, Ilia Lazarov, Miriam Lexmann, Gabriel Mato, Inese Vaidere, Loránt Vincze, Bogdan Andrzej Zdrojewski, Juan Ignacio Zoido Álvarez
PfE	Christophe Bay, Anna Bryłka, Sebastian Kruis
Renew	Benoit Cassart, João Cotrim De Figueiredo, Barry Cowen, Karin Karlsbro, Marie-Pierre Vedrenne
S&D	Brando Benifei, Udo Bullmann, Delara Burkhardt, Bernd Lange, Cristina Maestre, Javier Moreno Sánchez, Ştefan Muşoiu, Kathleen Van Brempt

6	-
The Left	Manon Aubry, Lynn Boylan, Rudi Kennes
Verts/ALE	Markéta Gregorová, Majdouline Sbai, Catarina Vieira

0	0

Key to symbols: + : in favour

- : against
- 0 : abstention