## Question for written answer E-002848/2024 to the Commission Rule 144 Benedetta Scuderi (Verts/ALE), Nela Riehl (Verts/ALE), Rima Hassan (The Left), Damien Carême (The Left), Mélissa Camara (Verts/ALE), Thijs Reuten (S&D), Marco Tarquinio (S&D)

Subject: Clarification on hierarchical disparities among the coordinators on combating antisemitism and fostering Jewish life, on anti-Muslim hatred and on anti-racism

The joint communication from the Commission and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy entitled 'No Place for Hate: a Europe united against hatred'<sup>1</sup> specifies that all three coordinators (on combating antisemitism and fostering Jewish life, on combating anti-Muslim hatred and on anti-racism) will be designated as envoys, leveraging EU-funded projects and policies to combat racism. However, the Commission President's Decision of 1 December 2024<sup>2</sup> assigned the coordinators on antisemitism and on anti-Muslim hatred to the Secretariat-General, directly supporting the President, while the coordinator on anti-racism remains a desk officer in JUST.D.2. This exclusion, affecting the only racialised coordinator, raises concerns about systemic inequities. We are also concerned about the potential unequal treatment of the Roma team leader.

We kindly ask the Commission to clarify:

- 1. how it will ensure that all forms of racism are treated with equal attention, given that the coordinators are placed at different hierarchical levels?
- 2. why the coordinator on anti-racism was excluded from joining the Secretariat-General?
- 3. how it will ensure a strong anti-racism strategy while separating the three coordinators from the same directorate-general?

Submitted: 10.12.2024

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Joint communication from the Commission and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy of 6 December 2023 entitled 'No place for hate: a Europe united against hatred' (JOIN(2023)0051).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Decision of the President of the Commission of 1 December 2024 on the organisation of responsibilities of the Members of the Commission.