## Question for oral answer O-000033/2022 to the Council

**Rule 136** 

Victor Negrescu (S&D), Tsvetelina Penkova (S&D), Clara Aguilera (S&D), René Repasi (S&D), Andrey Kovatchev (PPE), Marc Angel (S&D), Robert Hajšel (S&D), Asim Ademov (PPE), Ilhan Kyuchyuk (Renew), Atidzhe Alieva-Veli (Renew), István Ujhelyi (S&D), Eva Kaili (S&D), Francisco Guerreiro (Verts/ALE), Andrey Novakov (PPE), Romana Jerković (S&D), Radan Kanev (PPE), Hannes Heide (S&D), Predrag Fred Matić (S&D), Eva Maydell (PPE), Juozas Olekas (S&D), Marian-Jean Marinescu (PPE), Vlad-Marius Botoş (Renew), Loránt Vincze (PPE), Traian Băsescu (PPE), Anna Zalewska (ECR), Corina Creţu (S&D), Carmen Avram (S&D), Maria Grapini (S&D), Alex Agius Saliba (S&D), Mircea-Gheorghe Hava (PPE), Daniel Buda (PPE), Cristian Terheş (ECR), Adrian-Dragoş Benea (S&D), Nicolae Ştefănuţă (Renew), Tudor Ciuhodaru (S&D), Pierre Larrouturou (S&D), Cristian-Silviu Buşoi (PPE), Ramona Strugariu (Renew), Dacian Cioloş (Renew), Dragoş Tudorache (Renew), Dragoş Pîslaru (Renew), Alin Mituţa (Renew), Emil Radev (PPE), Claudiu Manda (S&D)

Subject: Timetable and vote for the accession of Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia to the Schengen Area

Even though Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia have fulfilled the technical requirements for accession to the Schengen Area for many years, and the multiple evaluations by the Commission have found them to offer positive examples of border security management, they have not been granted member status.

In view of the above, and of the priorities of the Czech EU Council Presidency:

- 1. What is the Council's timetable for the accession of these states to the Schengen Area?
- 2. Does the Justice and Home Affairs Council intend to vote on the enlargement of the Schengen Area during its meeting in December 2022?

Submitted: 21.9.2022

Lapses: 22.12.2022