European Parliament

2024-2029



TEXTS ADOPTED

P10_TA(2024)0005

Numerical strength of interparliamentary delegations

European Parliament decision of 18 September 2024 on the number and numerical strength of interparliamentary delegations (2024/2814(RSO))

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the proposal from the Conference of Presidents,
- having regard to its decision of 17 July 2024 on the number and numerical strength of the interparliamentary delegations¹,
- having regard to Rules 229 and 230 of its Rules of Procedure,
- 1. Decides to set the number of interparliamentary delegations, their regional groupings and their numerical strength, as follows:
 - (a) Europe, Western Balkans and Türkiye
 - Delegation to the EU-North Macedonia Joint Parliamentary Committee: 13 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Türkiye Joint Parliamentary Committee: 25 Members,
 - Delegation for Northern cooperation and for relations with Switzerland and Norway and to the EU-Iceland Joint Parliamentary Committee and the European Economic Area (EEA) Joint Parliamentary Committee: 18 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Serbia Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee: 15 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Albania Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee: 14 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee: 14 Members,
 - Delegation for relations with Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo,

¹ Texts adopted, P10_TA(2024)0002.

including the EU-Bosnia and Herzegovina Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee and the EU-Kosovo Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee: 13 Members,

- Delegation to the EU-UK Parliamentary Partnership Assembly: 35 Members;
- (b) Russia and the Eastern Partnership states
 - Delegation to the EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee: 31 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Association Committee: 16 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Moldova Parliamentary Association Committee: 14 Members,
 - Delegation for relations with Belarus: 12 Members,
 - Delegation to the EU-Armenia Parliamentary Partnership Committee, the EU-Azerbaijan Parliamentary Cooperation Committee and the EU-Georgia Parliamentary Association Committee: 18 Members;
- (c) Maghreb, Mashreq, Israel and Palestine
 - Delegations for relations with:
 - Israel: 18 Members,
 - Palestine: 18 Members,
 - the Maghreb countries and the Arab Maghreb Union, including the EU-Morocco, EU-Tunisia and EU-Algeria Joint Parliamentary Committees: 18 Members,
 - the Mashreq countries: 19 Members;
- (d) The Arab Peninsula, Iraq and Iran
 - Delegations for relations with:
 - the Arab Peninsula: 16 Members,
 - Iraq, including the EU-Iraq Parliamentary Cooperation Committee: 8 Members,
 - Iran: 11 Members;
- (e) The Americas
 - Delegations for relations with:

- the United States: 64 Members,
- Canada: 18 Members,
- the Federative Republic of Brazil: 14 Members,
- the countries of Central America, including the EU-Central America Association Parliamentary Committee: 15 Members,
- the countries of the Andean Community: 13 Members,
- Mercosur: 19 Members,
- Delegation to the EU-Mexico Joint Parliamentary Committee: 14 Members,
- Delegation to the EU-Chile Joint Parliamentary Committee: 15 Members,
- Delegation to the Cariforum-EU Parliamentary Committee: 15 Members;
- (f) Asia/Pacific
 - Delegations for relations with:
 - Japan: 24 Members,
 - the People's Republic of China: 38 Members,
 - India: 24 Members,
 - Afghanistan: 8 Members,
 - the countries of South Asia: 15 Members,
 - the countries of Southeast Asia and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN): 27 Members,
 - the Korean Peninsula: 13 Members,
 - Australia and New Zealand: 12 Members,
 - Delegation for relations with Central Asia: 19 Members;
- (g) Africa
 - Delegations for relations with:
 - South Africa: 16 Members,
 - the Pan-African Parliament: 12 Members;
- (h) Multilateral assemblies
 - Delegation to the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly: 78 Members,

- Delegation to the Africa-EU Parliamentary Assembly: 48 Members,
- Delegation to the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly: 15 Members,
- Delegation to the Pacific-EU Parliamentary Assembly: 15 Members,
- Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean: 51 Members,
- Delegation to the Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly: 75 Members,
- Delegation to the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly: 60 Members,
- Delegation for relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly: 10 Members;
- 2. Decides that the delegation to the OACPS-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly shall consist of the members from the delegations to the Africa-EU Parliamentary Assembly, the Caribbean-EU Parliamentary Assembly and the Pacific-EU Parliamentary Assembly;
- 3. Decides that the membership of the delegations to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean, to the Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly and to the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly shall be drawn exclusively from the bilateral or sub-regional delegations covered by each Assembly;
- 4. Decides that the membership of the delegation for relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly shall be drawn exclusively from the Subcommittee on Security and Defence;
- 5. Decides, with reference to the decision of the Conference of Presidents of 11 September 2024 relating to the composition of delegation bureaux, that the delegation bureaux may consist of up to two vice-chairs, with the exception of the bureaux of delegations to multilateral assemblies, for which the delegation bureaux should correspond to the number of Parliament's representatives in the respective bureau of those multilateral assemblies;
- 6. Recalls that only official delegations, duly authorised by the Conference of Presidents, are permitted to carry out activities on behalf of the European Parliament and to represent its position;
- 7. Decides that this decision shall replace its abovementioned decision of 17 July 2024;
- 8. Decides that this decision will enter into force on the day of its adoption;
- 9. Instructs its President to forward this decision to the Council, the Commission and the European External Action Service, for information.