SECOND DAY

St. Paul, Wednesday, January 6, 1971.

The Senate met at 11:00 o'clock A.M., and was called to order by the President.

Prayer by the Chaplain.

The roll being called, the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson, E. J	.Davies	Hughes, Keith	Moe	Popham
Anderson, J. C	. Dosland	Jensen, C. A.	Novak	Purfeerst
Anderson, J. T	.Doty	Jensen, V. K.	Nyquist	Renneke
Arnold	Frederick	Josefson	Ogdahl	Schrom
Ashbach	Gage	Jude	Olson, A. G.	Sinclair
Benson	Gearty	Kalina	Olson, H. D.	Tennessen
Bergerud	Glewwe	Kirchner	Olson, J. L.	Thorup
Blatz	Gustafson	Krieger	O'Neill	Ukkelberg
Borden	Hansen, Baldy	Larson	Overgaard	Wegener
Brown	Hansen, Mel	Laufenburger	Palmer	Willet
Chenoweth	Hanson, N. W.	Mammenga	Parish	Wolfe
Chmielewski	Holmquist	McCarty	Perpich, A. J.	
Coleman	Holsten	McCutcheon	Perpich, G.	
Conzemius	Hughes, J. M.	Metcalf	Pillsbury	

Quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Mr. Holmquist moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 11:00 o'clock A.M., Thursday, January 7th, 1971.

Mr. Coleman moved a call of the Senate.

Mr. Dosland raised a point of order on the call of the Senate declaring the call was out of order since the Senate was not organized. The Chair announced the temporary rules had been adopted on the first day of the session, and that the Senate was organized. Upon inquiry by Mr. Dosland on the vote for the purported temporary rules, Mr. Davies announced the vote was yeas 33 and nays none. The Chair ruled Mr. Dosland's point of order was not proper. Mr. Dosland appealed the decision of the Chair and requested a roll call vote. After a discussion on the matter, Mr. Dosland withdrew his appeal.

Mr. Coleman renewed his call of the Senate and requested absentees.

Mr. Coleman then moved to dispense with further proceedings under the call of the Senate.

Mr. Holmquist raised a point of order on the grounds that the motion to dispense with further proceedings under the call of the Senate was out of order.

The Chair ruled Mr. Coleman's motion to be in order.

Mr. Holmquist appealed the ruling of the Chair and requested a roll call vote.

Mr. Coleman objected to the use of the electronic voting machine and the vote was taken by Viva Voce.

The question being taken on the appeal of Mr. Holmquist and the roll being called there were yeas 34 and nays 33.

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson, E. J	.Frederick	Jensen, C. A.	Metcalf	Pillsbury
Anderson, J. T.Gage		Josefson	Nyquist	Popham
Ashbach	Glewwe	Kirchner	Ogdahl	Renneke
Bergerud	Hansen, Mel	Krieger	Olson, J. L.	Sinclair
Blatz	Holmquist	Larson	O'Neill	Ukkelberg
Brown	Holsten	McCarty	Overgaard	Wolfe
Dosland	Hughes, Keith	McCutcheon	Palmer	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson, J. C	. Conzemius	Hughes, J. M.	Novak	Schrom
Arnold	Davies	Jensen, V. K.	Olson, A. G.	Tennessen
Benson	Doty	Jude	Olson, H. D.	Thorup
Borden	Gearty	Kalina	Parish	Wegener
Chenoweth	Gustafson	Laufenburger	Perpich, A. J.	Willet
Chmielewski	Hansen, Baldy	Mammenga	Perpich, G.	
Coleman	Hanson, N. W.	Moe	Purfeerst	

The Chair announced yeas 33 and nays 33.

So the appeal lost.

Mr. Holmquist reported that there were yeas 34 and nays 33 and the Chair was overruled.

The question then recurred on the Call of the Senate and the following Senators answered to the Call of the Senate.

Anderson, J. C	.Conzemius	Hughes, J. M.	Novak	Schrom
Arnold	Davies	Jensen, V. K.	Olson, A. G.	Tennessen
Benson	Doty	Jude	Olson, H. D.	Thorup
Borden	Gearty	Kalina	Parish	Wegener
Chenoweth		Laufenburger		Willet
Chmielewski	Hansen, Baldy		Perpich, G.	
Coleman	Hanson, N. W.	Moe	Purfeerst	

The question then recurred on the motion to adjourn and the roll being called, there were yeas 34 and nays 33.

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

		Jensen, C. A. Josefson	Metcalf	Pillsbury
Anderson, J. T.Gage			Nyquist	Popham
Ashbach	Glewwe	Kirchner	Ogdahl	Renneke
Bergerud	Hansen, Mel	Krieger	Olson, J. L.	Sinclair
Blatz	Holmguist	Larson	O'Neill	Ukkelberg
Brown	Holsten	McCarty	Overgaard	Wolfe
Dosland	Hughes, Keith	McCutcheon	Palmer	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson, J. C	Conzemius	Hughes, J. M.	Novak	Schrom
Arnold	Davies	Jensen, V. K.	Olson, A. G.	Tennessen
Benson	Doty	Jude	Olson, H. D.	Thorup
Borden	Gearty	Kalina	Parish	Wegener
Chenoweth	Gustafson	Laufenburger	Perpich, A. J.	Willet
Chmielewski	Hansen, Baldy	Mammenga	Perpich, G.	
Coleman	Hanson, N. W.	Moe	Purfeerst	

The Chair announced the vote was yeas 33 and nays 33.

Mr. Holmquist announced the vote as yeas 34 and nays 33 and the motion to adjourn carried.

So the Senate was adjourned until 11:00 o'clock A.M., Thursday, January 7, 1971. Which motion prevailed.

George G. Goodwin, Secretary of the Senate.