THIRD DAY

St. Paul, Thursday, January 7, 1971.

The Senate met at 11:00 o'clock A.M., and was called to order by the President.

Prayer by the Chaplain.

The roll being called, the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson, E. J Anderson, J. C Anderson, J. T Arnold Ashbach Benson Bergerud Blatz Borden Brown Chenoweth Chmielewski Coleman	Dosland Doty Frederick Gage Gearty Glewwe Gustafson Hansen, Baldy Hansen, Mel Hanson, N. W. Holmquist Holsten	Laufenburger Mammenga McCarty McCutcheon	Novak Nyquist Ogdahl Olson, A. G. Olson, H. D. Olson, J. L. O'Neill Overgaard Palmer Parish Perpich, A. J. Perpich, G.	Popham Purfeerst Renneke Schrom Sinclair Tennessen Thorup Ukkelberg Wegener Willet Wolfe
		McCutcheon		

Quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with.

REPORTS FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF THE SENATE

The following reports were received and filed by the Secretary of the Senate and a copy distributed to each member: Report of Revisor of Statutes Concerning Certain Opinions of the Supreme Court; Minnesota Department of Public Welfare Biennial Report July 1, 1968 — June 30, 1970; State Auditor of Minnesota Biennial Report 1969 - 1970; Minnesota Zoological Garden Mirror to the Environment; Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Commission; Minnesota Department of Employment Security Annual Report 1968 with addendum.

Mr. Davies made inquiry as to when the Chair would accept a motion regarding the seating of Mr. Palmer.

The Chair advised it would be in order to entertain such a motion under "Motions and Resolutions."

The Chair then announced a quorum was present.

Mr. Holmquist moved that the Senate adjourn until 10:00 o'-clock A.M., Friday, January 8, 1971.

Mr. Holmquist stated that no business in the organization of the Senate had been transacted except the election of the Secretary of the Senate, Mr. George Goodwin.

Mr. Holmquist requested that a roll call vote be taken on the motion to adjourn.

The question then recurred on the motion of Mr. Holmquist that the Senate do now adjourn.

The roll being called viva voce, there were yeas 34 and nays 33.

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson, E.	J. Frederick	Jensen, C. A.	Metcalf	Pillsbury
Anderson, J.	Γ.Gage	Josefson	Nyquist	Popham
Ashbach	Glewwe	Kirchner	Ogdahl	Renneke
Bergerud	Hansen, Mel	Krieger	Olson, J. L.	Sinclair
Blatz	Holmquist	Larson	O'Neill	Ukkelberg
Brown	Holsten	McCarty	Overgaard	Wolfe
Dosland	Hughes, Keith	McCutcheon	Palmer	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson, J. C	. Conzemius	Hughes, J. M.	Novak	Schrom
Arnold	Davies	Jensen, V. K.	Olson, A. G.	Tennessen
Benson	Doty	Jude	Olson, H. D.	Thorup
Borden	Gearty	Kalina	Parish	Wegener
Chenoweth	Gustafson	Laufenburger	Perpich, A. J.	Willet
Chmielewski	Hansen, Baldy	Mammenga	Perpich, G.	
Coleman	Hanson, N. W.	Moe	Purfeerst	

The Chair announced the vote was yeas 33 and nays 33.

Mr. Holmquist announced the vote was yeas 34 and nays 33 and the motion to adjourn carried.

So the Senate was adjourned until 10:00 o'clock A.M., Friday, January 8, 1971.

George G. Goodwin, Secretary of the Senate.