# Preface to the ICPM 2021 Doctoral Consortium and Tool Demonstration Track

Mieke Jans<sup>a</sup>, Gert Janssenswillen<sup>a</sup>, Anna Kalenkova<sup>b</sup> and Fabrizio Maria Maggi<sup>c</sup>

This volume contains the papers presented at the Demonstration Track and Doctoral Consortium of the 3rd International Conference on Process Mining (ICPM 2021), organized by the Technical University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands.

The Doctoral Consortium pursues the objectives to provide valuable feedback and guidance to PhD students from experienced researchers, and to promote the development of a community of scholars including both peers and mentors for future careers. Each of the 11 received submissions has been evaluated by the committee. As a result, 9 students' research proposals were accepted. The topics covered by these proposals tackle open process mining challenges from different perspectives, spanning over robotic process automation, conformance checking, process performance, process discovery, to uncertain event data. The PhD students and senior researchers discussed the presented projects, their directions, methods and plans. The challenges and experiences gathered in the course of a PhD in process mining were also shared by the participants.

The ICPM 2021 Tool and Demonstration Track is intended to showcase innovative process mining tools and applications that may come either from research initiatives or from industry. We receveid 21 submissions, of which a total of 18 contributions were accepted. Tools covering a broad range of topics where presented in this edition, including among others process visualization, multi-perspective process analysis, interactive process discovery, predictive process monitoring and object-centric event logs. The works demonstrate the support that the emerging applications can offer to researchers, practitioners and industry in the process mining field.

The organizers of the Doctoral Consortium and the Tool Demonstration Track would like to express their gratitude to all individuals, institutions, and sponsors that supported ICPM 2021. A special word goes to all members of the Program Committees who contributed to make the tracks a success.

ICPM 2021 Doctoral Consortium and Tool Demonstration Track, October 30-November 4, 2021, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup>UHasselt, Faculty of Business Economics, 3500 Hasselt, Belgium

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup>The University of Melbourne, School of Computing and Information Systems, Carlton, VIC 3053, Australia

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>c</sup>Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Faculty of Computer Science, 39100 Bolzano, Italy

<sup>☑</sup> mieke.jans@uhasselt.be (M. Jans); gert.janssenswillen@uhasselt.be (G. Janssenswillen); anna.kalenkova@unimelb.edu.au (A. Kalenkova); maggi@inf.unibz.it (F. M. Maggi)

<sup>© 0000-0002-9171-2403 (</sup>M. Jans); 0000-0002-7474-2088 (G. Janssenswillen); 0000-0002-5088-7602 (A. Kalenkova); 0000-0002-9089-6896 (F. M. Maggi)

# Organisation

### **Doctoral Consortium**

#### Chairs

Mieke Jans Hasselt University, Belgium

Fabrizio Maria Maggi Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

# **Program Committee**

Wil M.P. van der Aalst RTWH Aachen, Germany

Rafael Accorsi PwC, Switzerland

Josep Carmona Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

Benoît Depaire Hasselt University, Belgium

Henrik Leopold Kühne Logistics University, Germany

Felix Mannhardt Technical University of Eindhoven, Netherlands

Jan MendlingHumboldt University Berlin, GermanyMathias WeidlichHumboldt University Berlin, GermanyJan Martijn van der WerfUtrecht University, The Netherlands

#### **Tool Demonstration Track**

# Chairs

Gert Janssenswillen Hasselt University, Belgium

Anna Kalenkova The University of Melbourne, Australia

# **Program Committee**

Amine Abbad Andaloussi
Abel Armas Cervantes
Andrea Burattin
Thomas Chatain
Jochen De Weerdt
Pavlos Delias
University of St Gallen, Switzerland
The University of Melbourne, Australia
Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
LSV, ENS Paris-Saclay, Cachan, France
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
International Hellenic University, Greece

Benoît Depaire Hasselt University, Belgium
Claudio Di Ciccio Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Chiara Di Francescomarino Fondazione Bruno Kessler-IRST, Italy

Dirk Fahland Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Luciano García-Bañuelos Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico

Sander J.J. Leemans Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Felix Mannhardt Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Andrea Marrella Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile Jorge Munoz-Gama

Artem Polyvyanyy The University of Melbourne, Australia

Manuel Resinas University of Seville, Spain

Flavia Santoro Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

University of Toronto, Canada Arik Senderovich

Farbod Taymouri The University of Melbourne, Australia

Greg Van Houdt Hasselt University, Belgium Hasselt University, Belgium Gerhardus van Hulzen Seppe Vanden Broucke Universiteit Gent, Belgium

Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands Eric Verbeek